Changes between Version 21 and Version 22 of RegionalWorkshops/neiu2015


Ignore:
Timestamp:
09/14/15 14:57:55 (7 years ago)
Author:
Vic Thomas
Comment:

--

Legend:

Unmodified
Added
Removed
Modified
  • RegionalWorkshops/neiu2015

    v21 v22  
    11[[PageOutline]]
    22
    3 = Checklist for Regional Workshop at NEIU =
    4 ''Sept. 18-19 2015''
    5 
    6 == 1. Host Checklist ==
    7 
    8 === As Early as Possible ===
    9  1. ~~Get 2 rooms for tutorials~~
    10     * ~~1 room with capacity ~70~~
    11     * ~~1 room with capacity ~50~~
    12     * ~~Space for demos/posters ~~
    13  1. Find keynote speaker
    14  1. ~~Create flyer for event: [attachment:flyer-GENI-Chicago.pdf flyer] ~~
    15  1. ~~Event registration site (http://www.tinyurl.com/geni-neiu or https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1E4hqkCusCETPofAGOvzprD60RCjPOxwO3r0IveT2YoQ/viewform) ~~
    16  1. ~~ Create event website (http://www.geni.net/geni-neiu or http://www.gracielaperera.com/GENI/GENI_EL_CENTRO/HOME.html) ~~
    17  1. Email/distribute flyer in colleges/universities in region
    18         * NEIU
    19             * Peter Kimmel, P-Kimmel@neiu.edu
    20             * Marcelo Sztainberg, M-Sztainberg@neiu.edu
    21             * Sylvia Atsalis  s-atsalis@neiu.edu
    22             * Maria Luna-Duarte,m-duarte@neiu.edu
    23             * Rebecca, mrlamadr@neiu.edu
    24             * Maria  Genao-Homs, m-genao-homs@neiu.edu
    25             * Lidia Filus, L-Filus@neiu.edu
    26             * Katherine Bird, k-bird@neiu.edu
    27             * Joe Hibdon, j-hibdonjr@neiu.edu
    28             * Jade, Stanley, J-Stanley@neiu.edu
    29             * Terrence Black, t-black@neiu.edu
    30             * Mirza Baig, mn-baig@neiu.edu
    31             * Thomas Tobin,  t-tobin@neiu.edu
    32             * Kenneth Beyer, k-beyer@neiu.edu
    33             * Richard Helldobler, rjhelldo@neiu.edu
    34             * James Thompson, j-thompson11@neiu.edu
    35             * Mateen Khumawala, m-khumawala@neiu.edu
    36             * Fausto Ortiz, fortiz1i@neiu.edu
    37             * Ozair Noor, O-Noor@neiu.edu
    38             * Isaura Pulido,  i-pulido1@neiu.edu
    39             * Janett Ramos, j-ramos29@neiu.edu
    40             * Natalie Potts, n-potts@neiu.edu
    41         * Northwestern U
    42             * Joe Mambretti  j-mambretti@northwestern.edu
    43             * Peter Dinda, pdinda@northwestern.edu
    44             * Fabián E. Bustamante, fabianb@cs.northwestern.edu
    45             * Larry Henschen, henschen@eecs.northwestern.edu
    46         * U. of Illinois, Chicago
    47            * Jakob Eriksson, jakon@uic.edu (ask to forward to gcasr-participation@mailman.cs.uchicago.edu)
    48         * Loyola U.
    49            * Konstantin Läufer, laufer@cs.luc.edu
    50         * Univeristy of Chicago
    51             * Chinonye "Chi-Chi" Nnakwe, ccnnakwe@uchicago.edu
    52         * Illinois Institute of Technology
    53             * Aron Cullota,  culotta@cs.iit.edu
    54         * DePaul U
    55             * ??
    56         * University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
    57             * Brighten Godfrey
    58             * Bill Sanders
    59             * Gul Agha
    60         * Detroit area schools
    61             * ??
    62         * U. of Wisconsin, Madison
    63              * Suman Banerjee  SUMAN@CS.WISC.EDU
    64              * Parmesh Ramanathan  parmesh@ece.wisc.edu
    65         * Milwaukee area schools
    66              * ??
    67         * U. of Indiana, Bloomington
    68              * Ezra Kissel
    69              * Martin Swany
    70              * Nathan Miller
    71         * Purdue U.
    72              * Sonia Fahmy  fahmy@cs.purdue.edu
    73         * University of Texas El Paso/CAHSI
    74              * Claudia Casas (CAHSI), ccasas@utep.edu
    75              * Ann Gates, agates@utep.edu
    76          * INDUSTRY LOCAL
    77              * Jonathan Salem Baskin, jonathan@arcadialab.net
    78              * Halock Labs, TerryK@halock.com
    79              * Sergiy Fefilatyevm, Nokia via linkedin
    80              * Juan Gabriel Moreno,  juan@jgma.co
    81          * OTHER
    82              * SACNAS Leadership Institude, sli_alumni@sacnas.org
    83              * Hispanic mailing list,  hispanicsincomputing@cheetah.cs.fiu.edu.
    84              * Latinas in computing, lic+new@systers.org
    85              * NCWIT Kimberly Kalahar, kimberly.kalahar@colorado.edu
    86          * GENI lists
    87              * geni-announce
    88              * geni-users
    89              * geni-educators
    90  1. Start discussions with catering
    91     * Breakfast and lunch on Days 1 & 2
    92     * Food at poster/demo session?
    93  1. Start soliciting posters/demos from local universities.  Work presented does not have to be GENI related.
    94 
    95 === Logistics Details ===
    96  1. Seating: Sufficient room for participants to have a laptop and printed instructions in front of them.
    97  1. Projector and screen
    98  1. Microphone for instructor.  Preferably lapel microphone.  Microphone on a podium is ok.  No handheld microphone.
    99  1. Network: Wired ethernet in front of room for instructor.  Wireless for attendees.
    100  1. Network: Test network to ensure all required ports are open.  See [wiki:HowTo/TestGENIEventNetwork instructions].  Make sure laptop being used for testing is connected only to the network used by the participants.
    101  1. Power: Power at each table.
    102  1. Help: It is nice to have a student/staff member available at least the 1st day of the workshop to help with logistics
    103 
    104 === 1 week before event ===
    105  1. Email logistics information to participants
    106     * Link to agenda
    107     * Directions
    108     * Parking
    109  1. Badges/nametags for participants
    110 
    111 === Few days before event ===
    112  1. Print instructions and worksheets for tutorials
    113  1. Signs from parking lots to classrooms (if needed)
     3= GENI Regional Workshop @ NEIU, Chicago =
    1144
    1155
    116 == 2. Joint Host/GPO Checklist ==
    117  1. Registration page for workshop: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1SjMZ4nFg4YvzspKO-ZLOe4byk-W3qTBW9OozcOmKfd0/
    118  1. Web page for workshop
    119     * Event description
    120     * Locatio, directions, parking info
    121     * Link to registration
    122     * Hotel info
    123     * Agenda
    124  
    125 === 4 weeks before event ===
    126  1. Finalize agenda
    127  1. Inform instructors so they can make travel arrangements
    128  1. Inform attendees.
    129  1. Ask for demos/posters
    1306
    1317
    132 === 2 weeks before workshop ===
    133  1. Inform GMOC
    134  1. ~~Create GENI project for workshop~~  - GRW15Illinois
    135  1. ~~Temp accounts~~ [http://groups.geni.net/syseng/ticket/6614 ticket #6614]
    1368
    137 === 1 week before workshop ===
    138  1. Email pre-workshop tasks: accounts, tools, etc.
    139  1. Inform aggregate owners
    140  1. Create feedback form for attendees to complete at workshop
    141 
    142 === After the event ===
    143  1. Follow-up email to attendees
    144  2. Delete any temp accounts
    145  3. Expire GENI project
    146